Tag: wainwright project

All wainwright project Posts


Book 7: The Western Fells

The Western Fells rise gradually from the Cumbrian coastal plain, Wainwright excluding some of the lower specimens nearest the sea. He drew a complex and arbitrary dividing line part way


Book 6: The North Western Fells

The North Western Fells form a self contained unit, its borders being well defined. The only link with other high ground is at the summit of Honister Pass in the


Book 5: The Northern Fells

The Northern Fells form a self contained unit, quite remote from the other ranges. The western boundary is formed by Bassenthwaite Lake and the southern perimeter by the River Greta,


Book 4: The Southern Fells

Of all Wainwright’s boundary decisions, the outer perimeter of the Southern Fells is the most often debated. Two ridges continue south west on either side of the Duddon Valley, the


Book 3: The Central Fells

In the north is the Vale of Keswick, providing wide and total separation from Skiddaw and the Northern Fells. To the west runs the long valley of Borrowdale, flowing in


Book 2: The Far Eastern Fells

The Far Eastern Fells occupy the region east of the A592 Kirkstone Pass road. This runs north from Ambleside to Patterdale at the head of Ullswater. The western perimeter then


Book 1: The Eastern Fells

The Eastern Fells occupy the region between the A591 Keswick to Ambleside road and the lake of Ullswater to the west. The Helvellyn range forms the main spine of the

Wainwright Ascent Table

There follows a complete list of all the Wainwrights. This is a long list and is rather unwieldy, so you may be better off with the links to the left,


The Wainwrights

The “Wainwrights” are the Lake District mountains, hills, fells, crags and tops described by Alfred Wainwright in his Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells. There are seven of these books,