The Wainwrights

The “Wainwrights” are the Lake District mountains, hills, fells, crags and tops described by Alfred Wainwright in his Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells. There are seven of these books, all reproduced in his own script with the fine line drawings that made him famous. The seven books contain 214 catalogued summits, classified by geographical location as follows;

Book 1: The Eastern Fells

Book 2 : The Far Eastern Fells

Book 3: The Central Fells

Book 4: The Southern Fells

Book 5: The Northern Fells

Book 6: The North Western Fells

Book 7: The Western Fells

I did my first Wainwright without even knowing it, when I climbed Coniston Old Man in July of 2005. I hadn’t even heard of Alfred Wainwright at that time and the Lakeland fells were a complete mystery to me.

Rob mentioned his name a couple of times I think and the more I investigated the world of fell walking, the more I came across the name. I eventually bought one of the Pictorial Guides off an eBay auction, the Southern Fells, which included Coniston Old Man and I was immediately hooked.

It wasn’t until early 2007 that I decided to start my Wainwright Project, by which time I had ascended two or three more of the fells covered in his books. My overall progress can be seen on the Wainwright Ascent Table page (see the menu on the left). Individual walks covering these fells can be found on the Wainwright Walks page.

2 Responses

  1. Mark Tuzylak says:

    Any plans to complete the Wainwrights any time soon?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.